• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Dokkio Sidebar applies AI to make browsing the web faster and more productive. Whenever you open Sidebar, you'll get an AI summary of the web page and can ask any question you like about the content of the page! Try Dokkio Sidebar for free.


Science Notebook Page 39

Page history last edited by Angela Chappell 9 years, 8 months ago

Learning Target: I can describe the different oceanic zones.


Warm Up: Read the Ocean Zones Book. Answer questions 1 - 5 using complete sentences on page 38 of your notebook. For question 5, create a Double Bubble Map or a Venn Diagram.

ocean zones book.pdf




Oceanic Zones

The ocean can be divided into several types of regions and zones

  • Benthic Zone - the ocean floor
  • Pelagic Zone - the ocean waters



Pelagic Zone - divided by depth 

  • Neritic Zone
    • goes down about 200 meters and includes the seashore and the ocean over the continental shelf
  • Oceanic Zone
    • starts at 200 meters and goes to the ocean floor
    • zone is the deepest, darkest part of ocean
  • Intertidal Zone
    • the area above water at low tide and below water at high tied
    • between the tide marks


Pelagic Zone - divided into layers

  • Euphotic Zone
    • the top layer from surface to 100 - 200 meters down
    • gets enough light to support plankton and most of the ocean's life
  •  Bathyal Zone
    • called the twilight zone
    • aphotic
      • very little to no visible light
    • high water pressure
    • high number of creatures are able to live at this depth
  • Abyssal Zone
    • down to the ocean floor
    • water temperature is near freezing
    • aphotic - no light
    • very few creatures can be found at these crushing depths
      • mostly invertebrates
    • three-fourths of the ocean floor lies within this zone





Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.