• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • You already know Dokkio is an AI-powered assistant to organize & manage your digital files & messages. Very soon, Dokkio will support Outlook as well as One Drive. Check it out today!


Science Notebook Page 39

This version was saved 10 years, 1 month ago View current version     Page history
Saved by Angela Chappell
on October 13, 2013 at 6:46:10 pm

Learning Target: I can describe the different oceanic zones.


Warm Up: Read the Ocean Zones Book. Answer questions 1 - 5 using complete sentences on page 38 of your notebook. For question 5, create a Double Bubble Map or a Venn Diagram.

ocean zones book.pdf




Oceanic Zones

The ocean can be divided into several types of regions and zones

  • Benthic Zone - the ocean floor
  • Pelagic Zone - the ocean waters



Pelagic Zone - divided by depth 

  • Neritic Zone
    • goes down about 200 meters and includes the seashore and the ocean over the continental shelf
  • Oceanic Zone
    • starts at 200 meters and goes to the ocean floor
    • zone is the deepest, darkest part of ocean
  • Intertidal Zone
    • the area above water at low tide and below water at high tied
    • between the tide marks


Pelagic Zone - divided into layers

  • Euphotic Zone
    • the top layer from surface to 100 - 200 meters down
    • gets enough light to support plankton and most of the ocean's life
  • Bathyal Zone
    • called the twilight zone
    • aphotic
      • very little to no visible light
    • high water pressure
    • high number of creatures are able to live at this depth
  • Abyssal Zone
    • down to the ocean floor
    • water temperature is near freezing
    • aphotic - no light
    • very few creatures can be found at these crushing depths
      • mostly invertebrates
    • three-fourths of the ocean floor lies within this zone





Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.